The Oracle

Filed under CULTURE, SHOWCASE

Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

Singer-songwriter+Maggie+Rogers+released+her+debut+album%2C+%27Heard+it+in+a+Past+Life%27+on+Jan.+18%2C+2019.+The+album+discusses+the+emotions+surrounding+change%2C+and+the+journey+of+figuring+out+who+you+are.
Back to Article
Back to Article

Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

Singer-songwriter Maggie Rogers released her debut album, 'Heard it in a Past Life' on Jan. 18, 2019. The album discusses the emotions surrounding change, and the journey of figuring out who you are.

Singer-songwriter Maggie Rogers released her debut album, 'Heard it in a Past Life' on Jan. 18, 2019. The album discusses the emotions surrounding change, and the journey of figuring out who you are.

Photo credit: Maggie Rogers promotional materials

Singer-songwriter Maggie Rogers released her debut album, 'Heard it in a Past Life' on Jan. 18, 2019. The album discusses the emotions surrounding change, and the journey of figuring out who you are.

Photo credit: Maggie Rogers promotional materials

Photo credit: Maggie Rogers promotional materials

Singer-songwriter Maggie Rogers released her debut album, 'Heard it in a Past Life' on Jan. 18, 2019. The album discusses the emotions surrounding change, and the journey of figuring out who you are.

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Last year, I was sitting in a van on my way back from Arrow Week when my instructor plugged her phone into the auxiliary cord and started playing her expedition playlist. My friends and I were debriefing our trip when I heard the first lines of Maggie Rogers’Alaska.”

“What is this?” I asked my instructor. I had never heard a song that sounded like it before. And with that, I was roped into Rogers’ world.

Released in 2016, Rogers’ “Alaska” was written about a course she took with the National Outdoor Leadership School (something I did not know we had in common after my first listen, but nevertheless, something that pulled me further into Rogers’ music career). The song fueled her rise to stardom, as she played it for singer and record producer Pharrell Williams at a critique session at New York University. After hearing the song, Williams was floored, saying that he had “zero notes.” But Rogers’ success did not end with “Alaska.”

Rogers, who was born in Easton, Maryland, got her start in music by playing the banjo. She drew her musical inspirations from French dance music, folk music and indie music, all of which are prevalent in her new album, “Heard it in a Past Life.” While these genres may not seem like they work together, Rogers’ unique style and vocals defy limitations. The 45-minute-long album, which was released on January 18, 2019, is magical.

The album kicks off with “Give a Little,” an upbeat dance song. While the bass and percussion offer a light start to the album sonically, the song’s message is deep. Rogers sings “If I was who I was before/Then I’d be waiting at your door/But I cannot confess I am the same,” explaining in an Instagram post that this song is her “re-introduction” to the world as an artist. 

“Give a Little” is the perfect example of her new authenticity. The track starts off with a light drum beat, but the beat gradually becomes louder and stronger, almost as if it was a story, adding more detail as time went on. The song’s emotional nature, and the fact that it sounds like nothing Rogers has produced before, truly introduced me to “the real Maggie” and her new style.

The ninth track, “Fallingwater,” best features Rogers’ immense vocal talent. The track begins with Rogers belting the lyrics, “Hold on, I thought that I could take it from here.” Though the sentence is short, the power of her voice embodies a larger message. This song highlights Rogers’ genuine interest in bettering herself, both vocally and in life. The lyrics explain the results of letting go of relationships, and Rogers explained in an Instagram post that this song showed her what she could truly do as a singer. I found the song to be empowering, and it is one that I have played nonstop since the album’s release.

The album concludes with “Back in My Body,” a song about finding yourself. It feels almost like a step-by-step walkthrough of how she got to “Give a Little.” Through the emotional four-minute-ballad, I really got to understand Rogers’ feelings of not knowing who she was, and her process in understanding and feeling comfortable with herself. The song is less uptempo than her other songs, but the speed sets the tone for Rogers’ moving storyline throughout the song — she truly takes the time to express her story. Rogers explains this story by letting listeners know that now, especially with the help of this album, she understands who she is when she sings, “This time I know I’m fighting.” This song was the perfect end to an album like no other. Rogers addresses who she used to be and encourages others to embrace the feeling of figuring out who you are. For me, hearing an artist sing about this is uncharted territory.

“Heard it in a Past Life” is not just an album — it is an experience. As a fan of Rogers prior to the album’s release, I was amazed by the raw, emotional power the album brought, and I was so inspired by Rogers’ ability to show her true self. The album was like a documentary of Rogers’ life, and I cannot wait to see what she does next.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Heard it in a Past Life
  • Originality
  • Lyrics
  • Technical Quality
  • Enjoyment
  • Impact
4.8

Summary

Singer-songwriter Maggie Rogers released her first album, ‘Heard it in a Past Life,’ on Jan. 18, 2019. The album discusses what it’s like to experience change, how to navigate understanding yourself and relationships. The album is Rogers’ “re-introduction” to the music world, and it gives listeners insights into what her life is like.

About the Writer
Amelia Stone, Staff Writer

Amelia Stone joined the Oracle as a staff writer in 2018. She loves tennis and plays for the Archer varsity team. She is involved in Archer's Model United...

2 Comments

2 Responses to “Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself”

  1. Aviva on March 3rd, 2019 9:39 pm

    I LOVE this album and Maggie, and you do her great justice with your reflective review of it.

  2. Jessica Tuchin on March 3rd, 2019 9:40 pm

    Great review! I’m listening to the song right now, and it’s great. It’s so cool that you found out about it on Arrow Week!

As members of Archer’s active and engaged community, the Oracle welcomes reader comments and debate. We encourage community members to take ownership of their opinions by using their names when commenting. However, in order to ensure a diverse range of opinions, we do allow anonymous comments as long as they are respectful, relevant, and abide by Archer’s Responsible Use Policy. Comments are moderated, but not edited, and will appear once approved.

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.




Navigate Left
  • Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

    CULTURE

    Spring Sing: Orchestra, choir, a cappella concert showcases artistry

  • Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

    ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

    Review: Billie Eilish’s ‘WHEN WE FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?’ is a dream come true

  • Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

    CULTURE

    Review: Grand Central Market offers delicious food, unique experience

  • Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

    ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

    Senior tech crew members say goodbye to their ‘powerhouse techies’

  • Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

    ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

    The best performances of Coachella 2019

  • Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

    CULTURE

    Thespians participate in first-ever Young Playwrights in Action

  • Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

    ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

    Bea Freeman, Sarah Traenkle exhibit portraiture, ceramic work in senior shows

  • Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

    ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

    Goddess of Versatility: Sophomore Zahra Umoja dances into the lead

  • Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

    ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

    Grace Kerner sculpts her ‘Simple Love’ of ceramics in senior art show

  • Review: Maggie Rogers’ ‘Heard it in a Past Life’ explores journey of finding oneself

    CULTURE

    Review: Milk Bar creates unique, delicious treats

Navigate Right
The student news site of The Archer School for Girls